How Much Land Does the Mormon Church Actually Own?
What to Know — The Short Answer
Twenty minutes from Denver International Airport, there’s a stretch of empty prairie bigger than Central Park. Plans call it Tributary: homes for more than 12,000 people. Shops. Parks. A school. A fire station.
Fifteen hundred miles away, on the edge of Orlando, bulldozers are working through cattle country. The project is called Sunbridge — 27,000 acres across two counties, planned for tens of thousands of homes and apartments.
Different states. Different developers. Same landowner.
A church.
“Tributary”
A planned community on church-owned land larger than Central Park — homes for 12,000+ people, 20 minutes from Denver International Airport.
“Sunbridge”
A 27,000-acre master-planned community built with developer Tavistock on former Deseret Ranches land — part of long-range plans envisioning hundreds of thousands of residents by 2080.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints — the faith most people call the Mormon church — says holdings like these exist to fund a mission: feed the hungry, clothe the naked, prepare for the future.
So we checked. What’s actually documented? What’s somebody’s estimate? And what does nobody outside the Church actually know? This page keeps those three categories separate the whole way down. That’s the point of it.
One Church. Many Companies.
Nobody buys a ranch in the name of a church. The Mormon church operates through a network of legally separate entities — each with its own leadership, its own filings, and its own tax status. At the top sits the Corporation of the President, the ecclesiastical parent. If you want to follow the land, you first have to know the names on the deeds.
| Entity | What it does |
|---|---|
| EntityEnsign Peak Advisors | What it doesInvestment manager, established 1997. Files public SEC 13F reports on certain securities. |
| EntityProperty Reserve | What it doesCommercial real estate arm. City Creek Center; recent industrial and urban acquisitions. |
| EntityFarmland Reserve / AgReserves | What it doesAgricultural holdings: farms, ranches, orchards, timber — including Deseret Ranches. |
| EntitySuburban Land Reserve | What it doesLand development affiliate — Sunbridge (FL), Tributary-adjacent work, Lee’s Summit (MO). |
| EntityDeseret Management | What it doesFor-profit commercial businesses, media, insurance (including Beneficial Life). |
The Land, Mapped
Here’s what public records show. The Mormon church is Florida’s largest private landowner — roughly 678,000 acres, about 2% of the state — after buying nearly 383,000 acres of Panhandle timberland in 2013. Nationally, commercial real estate analysts at Landgate count about 1.7 million acres of primarily agricultural land. The independent Widow’s Mite Report, mapping county records state by state, estimates 2.3 million+ acres. Holdings are documented in at least 30 states.
America’s biggest private landowners — the list has a missing name
The Land Report 100 ranks families and individuals; institutions aren’t listed. Place the Mormon church’s estimated acreage alongside the 2026 rankings and it lands in the top five. Named owners: documented (Land Report, 2026). Church range: third-party estimates.
Where the documented examples are — illustrative, not exhaustive
Documented farm or ranch holdings: Nebraska, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, North Carolina, South Carolina. Documented development projects: Utah, Colorado, Missouri, Texas, Pennsylvania, Hawaii. Both: Florida.
- Documented farm or ranch holdings
- Documented development projects
- Both
The crown jewel: Deseret Ranches
Bought in 1950 as a 54,000-acre tract, the Central Florida ranch grew to roughly 300,000 acres across Orange, Osceola and Brevard counties — one of the largest cow-calf operations in the United States. For seventy years it was cattle country. Now its northwestern edge is becoming Sunbridge, and long-range county filings envision development across nearly 250 square miles, with roughly half a million residents by 2080.
That’s the pattern to understand: buy agricultural land at agricultural prices, hold it for generations, and let the city arrive.
How the footprint grew
| Year | Milestone | What happened |
|---|---|---|
| Year1950 | MilestoneThe Florida beachhead | What happenedThe Church buys the original 54,000-acre tract that becomes Deseret Ranches; over five decades it grows past 300,000 acres. |
| Year1997 | MilestoneEnsign Peak Advisors is established | What happenedThe Church’s investment manager is formed to steward reserve funds. |
| Year2012 | MilestoneCity Creek Center opens | What happenedProperty Reserve’s mixed-use development opens across from Temple Square in Salt Lake City — the Church’s most visible commercial project. |
| Year2013 | MilestoneThe St. Joe timberland purchase | What happenedNearly 383,000 acres of Florida Panhandle timberland — the deal that makes the Church the state’s largest private landowner. |
| Year2019 | MilestoneThe whistleblower complaint | What happenedFormer Ensign Peak manager David Nielsen alleges to the IRS that the reserve fund had grown to roughly $100 billion. The Church disputes his characterization. We test the 60 Minutes claims line by line in our Mormon church finances investigation. |
| Year2023 | MilestoneThe SEC settlement | What happenedThe Church and Ensign Peak pay $5 million to settle SEC charges over using shell companies to obscure securities holdings. The Church neither admits nor denies the allegations and says it regretted mistakes made. |
| Year2024 | MilestoneThe $289M farm purchase | What happenedFarmland Reserve buys 46 farms — 41,554 acres across seven states — from Farmland Partners Inc., one of a run of large acquisitions since 2018. |
| Year2026 | MilestoneThe development era goes national | What happenedBloomberg reports Ensign Peak’s public-securities portfolio topping $60 billion, and profiles Tributary (CO) and Sunbridge (FL) as the visible edge of a church-owned development pipeline. |
The Money, Stacked
The Church stopped publishing consolidated financial statements in the United States decades ago. So every number you’ve ever seen about “Mormon church wealth” belongs to one of three categories: documented, third-party estimate, or data gap. We keep them separate. Most coverage doesn’t.
| Figure | What it shows | Evidence tier |
|---|---|---|
| Figure$60B+ | What it showsEnsign Peak’s publicly traded securities, per its SEC 13F filing (June 2026). By design, 13Fs cover only certain asset types — this is a floor, not a total. | Evidence tierDocumented |
| Figure$5M | What it shows2023 SEC settlement over obscured holdings; the Church neither admitted nor denied the findings. | Evidence tierDocumented |
| Figure$1.58B | What it shows2025 spending on caring for those in need, per the Church’s own annual report. | Evidence tierDocumented |
| Figure$289M | What it shows2024 purchase of 46 farms (41,554 acres) from Farmland Partners Inc. | Evidence tierDocumented |
| Figure#1 in Florida | What it showsLargest private landowner in the state — roughly 678,000 acres, about 2% of Florida. | Evidence tierDocumented |
| Figure30+ states | What it showsStates with identifiable holdings in public records. | Evidence tierDocumented |
| Figure~$16B | What it showsEstimated value of identifiable US property (Landgate; Salt Lake Tribune, 2022). | Evidence tierThird-party estimate |
| Figure“Could top $121B” | What it showsWidow’s Mite Report’s upper estimate for the full land-and-buildings portfolio, including temples, chapels and BYU. Their conditional phrasing — we keep it conditional. | Evidence tierThird-party estimate |
| Figure~$2B | What it showsEstimated value of City Creek Center, the single most valuable commercial asset identified. | Evidence tierThird-party estimate |
| FigureTotal portfolio value | What it showsThe Church declined to tell Bloomberg the size of its real estate portfolio. No consolidated disclosure exists. | Evidence tierData gap |
| FigureAnnual tithing revenue | What it showsNot published. Outside figures are estimates or claims, not records. | Evidence tierData gap |
| FigureRanch & farm revenue | What it showsDeseret Ranches’ revenues and valuations are not disclosed. | Evidence tierData gap |
What Is It All For?
Ask the Church why it owns ranches, malls, and a securities portfolio, and the answer is consistent: the assets exist to fund a religious mission — caring for the poor, preparing for the future, and sustaining the Church’s work worldwide. That’s the claim. Here is what the documented record shows.
That’s roughly $4.3 million a day, every day of the year — and up ~55% in three years: $1.02B in 2022, $1.36B in 2023, $1.45B in 2024, $1.58B in 2025. The Church says the totals exclude members’ personal giving and its separate education contributions, which it reports at more than $1B annually.
The three stated purposes
Care for the poor. Welfare, food security, clean water, emergency relief — the spending above, reported annually since 2021 and rising each year.
Prepare & reserve. Leaders frame reserves as provident living at institutional scale — savings against future instability, citing the parable of the talents. Real estate professionals independently describe a 50–100 year horizon.
Fund the mission. Property Reserve’s stated position: the commercial portfolio produces durable cash flow that supports temples, meetinghouses, missionary work, and education.
Documented Evidence tier: All figures above come from the Church’s official annual Caring for Those in Need reports (2022–2025 editions). They are the Church’s own self-reported totals and are not independently audited — no consolidated financial statements exist to verify them against. Whether this scale of giving is proportionate to the Church’s total assets is a separate, contested question we take up next. Figures pulled Aug 26, 2026.
Two Readings of the Same Ledger
Everything above is the record. What follows is interpretation — and the two camps read the same facts in opposite directions. We give each side its strongest case.
“Members deserve to see the books.”
- Tithing without transparency. Nearly 18 million members are expected to tithe 10% of income, yet the Church publishes no consolidated financial statements in the US — members can’t see how their donations relate to a multibillion-dollar portfolio.
- The SEC settlement is documented, not alleged. Regulators found holdings were obscured through shell companies for years. That’s the strongest single piece of evidence critics have — and it’s verified.
- The proportionality question. $1.58B in annual giving is large in absolute terms and small next to a securities portfolio alone exceeding $60B — former insider David Nielsen’s core public claim was that reserves grew while charitable deployment lagged. The Church calls his claims unfounded and says he lacked the full picture. Our finances investigation tests both sides’ claims.
“Stewardship is the doctrine.”
- Reserves are theology, not hoarding. Leaders describe saving for future instability as a principle from the parable of the talents — and giving has risen every reported year, up ~55% since 2022, with education contributions reported separately at over $1B annually.
- The assets fund the mission. Property Reserve’s stated position is that commercial holdings exist to produce durable cash flow for the Church’s work — and independent real estate professionals describe the Church as a prudent, reliable investor with a 50–100 year view, bidding in cash and closing quickly.
- Legality is not in dispute. Ensign Peak is a registered supporting organization; taxable subsidiaries pay taxes. On the SEC matter, the Church settled, said it regretted mistakes made, and reorganized its filings.
What Nobody Outside the Church Knows
Here’s the part most coverage skips. Every “total” you have ever read about Mormon church wealth — every one — is a reconstruction. The 13F filings are partial by law. The land records are scattered across thousands of counties. The Caring reports are self-published. Until the Church publishes consolidated financial statements, the honest answer to “how much?” is: more than $60 billion in securities alone, over two million acres by the best independent counts, and no verifiable total. Anyone who gives you a single confident number is estimating — including the people who sound the most certain.
The verdict ledger
| Claim | Verdict |
|---|---|
| Claim“The Mormon church is the largest private landowner in Florida” | VerdictDocumented |
| Claim“Ensign Peak holds $60B+ in publicly traded securities” (floor, not total) | VerdictDocumented |
| Claim“The Church spent $1.58B caring for those in need in 2025” (self-reported) | VerdictDocumented |
| Claim“The Church’s land portfolio is worth over $100B” | VerdictThird-party estimate |
| Claim“Ensign Peak was a clandestine hedge fund that misled members” (Nielsen; Church denies) | VerdictPublic claim |
| Claim“The Church’s total wealth is $X” — any specific figure | VerdictData gap |
Frequently Asked Questions
How much land does the Mormon church own in the United States?
No official total is published. The best independent counts: roughly 1.7 million acres of primarily agricultural land (Landgate) and 2.3 million+ total acres mapped from county records (Widow’s Mite Report, 2023), across at least 30 states. Both are third-party estimates; the Church does not disclose a figure.
Is the Mormon church really Florida’s largest private landowner?
Yes — this one is documented. Public records show roughly 678,000 acres, about 2% of Florida’s landmass, a position cemented by the 2013 purchase of nearly 383,000 acres of Panhandle timberland from the St. Joe Company.
What is Ensign Peak Advisors?
The Mormon church’s investment manager, established in 1997 and registered as a supporting organization of the Church. Its SEC 13F filings showed more than $60 billion in publicly traded securities as of June 2026 — a partial picture by design, since 13Fs cover only certain asset types.
What is Property Reserve?
The Church’s commercial real estate arm. Its best-known project is City Creek Center in Salt Lake City; its stated position is that the commercial portfolio provides durable cash flow to fund the Church’s mission.
What is Deseret Ranches?
A roughly 300,000-acre cattle operation across three Central Florida counties, owned through Farmland Reserve — one of the largest cow-calf operations in the US. Parts of it are now being developed, starting with the 27,000-acre Sunbridge community.
How much is the Mormon church worth in total?
Nobody outside the Church verifiably knows. Documented pieces include $60B+ in publicly traded securities; independent estimates for the land-and-buildings portfolio run as high as “could top $121B” (Widow’s Mite Report). No consolidated financial statements are published, so every total figure in circulation is an estimate.
What does the Mormon church do with its money?
The Church’s stated purposes: caring for those in need ($1.58B reported in 2025, rising every year since reporting began), maintaining reserves for the future, and funding its religious mission — temples, meetinghouses, missionary work, and education (reported at over $1B annually, separately). Critics argue giving is small relative to total assets; the Church disputes that framing.
Did the Mormon church get fined by the SEC?
In 2023, the Church and Ensign Peak agreed to pay $5 million to settle SEC charges that shell companies were used to obscure securities holdings and avoid disclosure requirements. The Church neither admitted nor denied the allegations and said it regretted mistakes made.
Sources & further reading
- SEC Form 13F, Ensign Peak Advisors (June 2026); SEC administrative order & settlement (Feb 2023), sec.gov
- Bloomberg, “Florida, Colorado Developments Are Part of Mormon Church’s Real Estate Arm,” Aug 25, 2026
- Caring for Those in Need reports, 2022–2025, churchofjesuschrist.org; Church Newsroom, Mar 10, 2026
- Widow’s Mite Report: US Land Ownership (2023); Church Real Estate (2022), thewidowsmite.org — independent estimates
- Landgate analysis via Agriculture Dive (Oct 2024); Salt Lake Tribune property valuation reporting (2022)
- Florida Trend, “Ranchland to Rooftops”; Orlando Sentinel/CFPM Sunbridge & annexation coverage (2016–2024)
- Farmland Reserve, “About,” farmlandreserve.org; Tavistock/Sunbridge project materials, sunbridgefl.com
